Anyone facing a criminal charge must determine what to do about this. In addition to the fright and dilemma of being arrested, the whole experience can be extremely demanding. The effects can include severe penalties, leave aside the unpleasantness concerned. New Jersey criminal attorney Matthew Reisig has been showing successfully in New Jersey courts ever since 1975 in a lot of noteworthy matters regarding bad checks. If you were arrested with bad checks in NJ then indeed your future is at stake. That being said, there are loopholes which only an expert bad check lawyer can determine to care for your independence. Passing bad checks is a criminal activity in New Jersey and should not be taken lightly. If you have given a check knowing it won’t be honoured by the drawee bank then you’re accountable of a bad check conviction. As it is presumed that you were aware about your check not being honoured, meant that there were either limited cash in your bank account or you did not have any account with the bank whatsoever. The penalties then would be in ratio to the value of the check granted. Also, apart from legal punishment, an employer may consider monetary dishonesty as a bar to further work. This will make it even more vital to have the very best defence lawyer accessible to keep away from conviction.
What is the difference between a second degree and 3rd degree bad check charge in NJ?
Any bad check charge in New Jersey carries a charge like stealing related crimes. The penalty is connected with the amount supposed to be embezzled, with sentence between moderate to severe. For example, a bad check value cashed of under 2 hundred dollars, you deal with a disorderly person charge which attracts a jail term of 6 months and also a penalty of One thousand dollars. If these checks were more than Two hundred dollars up to 1000 dollars, then the imprisonment sentence bears a possible time period of Eighteen months and a fine of 10,000 dollars, and is viewed as a 4th degree offense. If the bad check conviction is between 1000 to 75,000 dollars, the sentence is 5 years as well as a 150,000 dollar fine. This is a third degree crime.
Amounts going above 75,000 dollars, are 31devzpky regarded a second degree offense and land you in prison for 10 years and include a 150,000 dollar penalty also, apart from restitution and other expenditures.
In case you or any member of the family has been faced with a bad check issuance, then speak to New Jersey Criminal Attorney, that has served persons in the same cases. Not just will he defend your constitutional rights, however he’ll try to get the bad checks charges laid off.